News and information from our partners

Livestock group names winners at annual awards banquet

Fred Wilkins named Cattleman of the Year.


Gorge News Report

The Klickitat County Livestock Association held its annual spring awards banquet and fundraiser on March 23 in White Salmon.

Award winners included:

The Joe Hassing Memorial Award was presented to Candi Kuhnhausen and Kate Whitmore.

Dorothy Shippey Jones received the O.P. Kreps Memorial Award.

The Jim Bridgefarmer Memorial Award for outstanding service to the community was awarded to Kenn Adcock.

Fred Wilkins of Dot was named Cattleman of the Year.

The Livestock Association will hold its annual Field Day on May 11. The event features two tours of the Wilkins' ranch, an afternoon barbecue, a speaker, and the presentation of the Cattleman of the Year sign.

"We learn what different ranchers do, and we like to have it so the general public can come and learn how the cattle business works," said Livestock Association President Dan Frey.

Steer of Merit Awards were given to: Kristi DeVries, Jolene Ferguson, Jaclyn Ferguson, Annie Hess, Eric Hess, Josh Hoctor, Tyler Jensen, Seth Jones, Jarin Ladiges, Fernando Murillo, Kelsey Sorensen, Brandon Tobin, Mitch Wheelhouse, Bryan Whitmore, Ashley Woodward, and Kate Woods.

Awards were also presented to Grand Champions Ashley Woodward (steer), Shane Bare (swine), Randi Scorr (sheep) and Cameron Scartozzi (goat), and Reserve Champions Chelsey Wheelhouse (steer), Trent Steinbach (swine), Rachel Partlow (sheep) and Chantell Cosner (goat).

Rate of Gain Champions: Tia Hoctor (first place, lamb), Tucker McCabe (second place, lamb), Cody Hamilton (first place, swine), and Trisha Williamson (second place, swine) received awards of merit.

The event was held at the Elks Lodge.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)