News and information from our partners

In all-league voting

Coaches pick their favorite players


The Enterprise

Coaches in the SW Washington 2A League's Trico Division and the Greater Columbia B League's Klickitat County and Yakima Valley divisions recently voted for their favorite players from the 2002-03 basketball season.

In the Trico Division, girls basketball coaches named Castle Rock junior guard Brooke Fernandez their most valuable player.

Coach of the year honors went to Glen Flanagan, who guided Woodland to a 20-0 regular-season record and another Trico Division title. (Results of balloting by Trico Division boys coaches was unavailable at press time.)

"Even before (Woodland's Ashley) Rodman got hurt, Fernandez clearly was the best player in the league," said outgoing Columbia High head coach Howard Kreps. "Castle Rock probably wouldn't have made it to district without her, while Woodland still went undefeated without Rodman."

Four players from Columbia High garnered votes, led by senior guard Mallory Holtman. She received All-Trico second-team recognition (she fell one vote short of making the first team) after collecting honorable mention kudos her junior and sophomore seasons.

CHS seniors Crystal Blankenship and Jessica Kinder, and junior Alexa Williams earned honorable mention: Kinder for the second time, Williams and Blankenship (a second-team selection a year ago) for the first.

Greater Columbia B League girls coaches selected Lindsey Blaine of Lyle as their player of the year while their boys hoops counterparts tapped Sunnyside Christian's Lance Den Boer for their MVP honors.

Blaine averaged nearly 28 points per game in leading the Cougars to their second District 5 Class B title and state tournament berth in four years.

Den Boer, who became the state's career scoring leader during the season, is a two-time state player of the year for the defending state champion Knights.

Riverside Christian of Yakima scored a clean sweep in balloting for the boys and girls sportsmanship and coach of the year awards. Rick Van Beek's peers named him the top girls coach, while Bruce Siebol won it for the boys.


Brooke Fernandez (MVP), junior, Castle Rock; Heather Hocking, senior, Ilwaco; Tanya Baker, sophomore, La Center; Jenny Stanfill, senior, La Center; Brittany Driver, senior Woodland; and Ashley Rodman, senior, Woodland.


Mallory Holtman, senior, Columbia High (White Salmon); Stacey Fleming, junior, Castle Rock; Ashley Kitzman, sophomore, Ilwaco; Sarah Davis, junior, La Center; Kelly Heald, junior, Ridgefield; and Teresa Schei, senior Woodland.


Columbia-White Salmon: Crystal Blankenship, senior; Jessica Kinder, senior, and Alexa Williams, junior.

Castle Rock: Carly Davidson, senior.

La Center: Bridgette Sexton, junior.

Ridgefield: Stephanie Kern, junior, and Kristi Meyer, senior.

Stevenson: Stacey Goodrich, senior.

Woodland: Destiny Schang, freshman, and Breeanne Cochran, junior.



Bickleton: Annie Hess, sophomore.

Klickitat: Jordan Graeme, senior, and Jaecee Ramsay, senior.

Lyle: Lindsey Blaine (MVP), senior, and Sarah Billette, senior.

Trout Lake: Rachel Anderson, junior.

LaSalle: Allyson Gamache and Carley Gosser.

Riverside Christian: Erin Shively and Sharelle Wells.

Sunnyside Christian: Tyssyna Van Wingerden and Hilary Hughes.



Glenwood: Bron Tomeo, sophomore.

Lyle: Tyler Austin, senior.

Trout Lake: Brandon Woodruff, senior.

LaSalle: Andy Curry.

Mabton: Wally Gutierrez and Victor Pi¤a.

Riverside Christian: George Graham, Matt Horsely and Joseph Hampton.

Sunnyside Christian: Lance Den Boer (MVP) and Dustin Bounds.

Yakima Tribal: Julius Hill.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)