News and information from our partners

DNR bans all open fires in nine eastern counties

Ban took effect July 29

Due to extreme fire danger, the Washington Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has banned all campfires and other open flame fires on DNR-protected land in nine eastern counties.

Those counties are Asotin, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Garfield, Kittitas, Klickitat, Yakima, and Walla Walla.

DNR's Southeast Washington ban--which took effect Friday, July 29--prohibits all open fires on Department of Natural Resources protected lands except the following:

Open fires in DNR-managed campgrounds within approved fire rings;

Open fires within approved fire rings in commercially and privately owned campgrounds that DNR protects from fire;

All open fires within approved fire rings in Washington State Parks campgrounds in DNR's protection area.

All other outdoor burning on DNR-protected lands is prohibited.

The ban applies to all private and state forest land and all adjoining properties within these counties. The only exception is the use of propane stoves, which still are allowed, but only if placed on a platform and not set directly on the ground.

DNR also tightened its Industrial Fire Precaution Levels for forestry industry workers throughout the state. The public can check DNR's website after 7 p.m. each day at to determine the following day's precaution levels for all zones.

For daily updates of DNR burn restrictions on a county-by-county basis, Internet users can go to, click on "Fire Information," then click on "Fire Danger in Your County."


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)