News and information from our partners

Student art showing in The Dalles; closing reception on February 26

Henkle and Columbia students honored

The Dalles Art Center is currently exhibiting the annual Mid Columbia Middle and High School Juried Art Competition now through Feb. 26.

Entries were received from over 280 students representing 12 area schools for the show. A closing reception and awards ceremony will be held Saturday Feb. 26 from 3-4 p.m.

Judging in a combined total of 18 categories was done for first through third place ribbons.

Placing first in the high school show are Abby Capovilla, Kendra Taylor, Jacob Thornton, Jeff Kline, Julia Rowland, Marian Appel, all of Hood River Valley High School; Emily Thornton and Frauke Beerman of The Dalles-Wahtonka Union High School; Ashley Neff, Columbia High School, and Erica Roberts, Cascade Locks School.

Second place winners are Kaitlin Mead, Dufur School; Donna Seaman, Cascade Locks School; Edith Castaneda, Sazja R. Van Alstine, Columbia High School; Emily Sager, Erin Hart, and Jon Wadman, HRVHS; and Elise Boldt, Samantha Shoecraft, Gerrit Izzo and Sylvestre Deras, TDWUHS.

Placing third are: Anna Moore, Sherman High School; Jenna Miller, Katie Cassidy, Jessica Ortiz, Lucas Ward, Kelsey Hale, Molly Jacobson, HRVHS; Amy Wilcox, TDWUHS; Nick Coate, Columbia High School; and Ashley Morris, Cascade Locks School.

Honorable Mentions were given to: Sam Thomas, Brittany Litschewski, Cascade Locks School; Jessica Lundh, Columbia High School; Cindy Hernandez, Hilda Galvin, Jordan Struck, HRVHS; and Hannah Wagenblast, Sarah Benson, TDWUHS.

Receiving "Best of Show" in the High School was Frauke Beerman, TDWUHS while "Judges' Choice" went to Marian Appel, HRVHS.

In the middle school competition, first place winners are Matthew Palmer of The Dalles Middle School; Krystal Lulevden, Javier Ortiz, Natalie Campos, Ramon Villanueva, Kirsten Larsen and David Curran of Henkle Middle School; and Michael Ryan, Cascade Locks School.

Second place went to Eric Innes, Nancy Guzman, Autumn Walker, Ivy Barajas, Joanna Villa and Autumn S. Vanderkloot, Henkle Middle School; Mathew Lindsey, Lydia Driver, Cascade Locks School.

Third place winners are Caleb Huth, Celeste Beetz, Ashlynn Campbell, Henkle Middle School; Jamie Cantwell, CLS; Katrina Mullins, Cathryn Polehn, TDMS; and Sarah Roberts, Home School.

Honorable Mentions were given to Esther Robenko, Claire Stevenson, Nicole Turner, and Mario Lachino, all of Henkle.

"Best of Show" was awarded to Javier Ortiz and "Judges' Choice" went to Krystal Lulevden, both of Henkle Middle School.

Everyone is welcome to stop in, enjoy the shows, and vote for their favorites for the "Peoples' Choice" awards.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)