News and information from our partners

The votes are in

Coaches tap CHS seniors for All-Trico soccer, baseball honors

Trico Division boys soccer and baseball coaches selected Columbia High seniors Nick Patrick and Jon Bryan for their 2005 first teams.

The first-team selection was the first for Patrick, a defender who lettered four years for the Bruins, who made their second-consecutive state Class 2A playoff appearance this past season.

Bryan, also a four-year varsity letterman, earned first-time first-team honors as a designated hitter. He received second-team honors the previous two years as a pitcher.

Senior goalkeeper Juan Benavides was CHS's only second-team pick by Trico soccer coaches. However, the Bruins had a host of honorable-mention choices.

The eight selected for honorable mention were juniors Whitney Butler, Braulio Garcia, Samuel Lachino and Demi Sanchez, freshmen Cheno Barajas and Shanti Gosman, and exchange students Sebastian Alvarez and Christian Rolly.

Offensive player of the year honors went to Stevenson sophomore Mark Kilpatrick, while Ridgefield junior Craig McCuiston collected the defensive player of the year award.

Aaron Pearce of division champion and state 2A runnerup Ridgefield was named coach of the year.

Columbia High was shutout in second-team baseball selections. However, sophomores Kyle Reeves, a first baseman, and Nicholas Reeves, a catcher, each received honorable mention.

In other voting, La Center senior Chris Williams won player of the year accolades, while Ridgefield's Art Osmundson and Hockinson's Rick Skinner shared the coach of the year award.




Three Klickitat County players earned places on the 12-member 2005 Greater Columbia B League All-Opponents team.

They were senior David Hoodenpyl and sophomore Kris Wood of Glenwood/Trout Lake, and senior Devan Essex of Lyle.

Michael Plegar of league champion La Salle garnered the player of the year award.


Two Lyle players and one from Klickitat/Glenwood/Trout Lake were among 11 to receive 2005 Greater Columbia B League All-Opponents honors.

Sophomore Kara Woosley and freshman Jessica Struck represented Lyle, while junior Sherri Brewer made it for KGTL.

Emily Hernandez of league champion Sunnyside Christian was named player of the year.

Track and Field:

Klickitat County athletes collected three of the GCB's four individual awards.

Seniors Mitch Wheelhouse of Glenwood and Annie Hess of Bickleton were voted by coaches as the male and female field-events athletes of the year.

Running-events athletes of the year were Trout Lake junior Andy Dick and Riverside Christian senior Sharelle Wells.

Coach of the year honors went to Morgan Colburn of Trout Lake (boys) and Scott Wells of Riverside Christian (girls).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)