News and information from our partners

Regular-season honors noted

Five County players receive GCB All-Opponents kudos

Klickitat County basketball players landed five of the 24 spots available on the 2004-05 Greater Columbia B League All-Opponents Teams.

Lyle senior Kalvin Kernan, Glenwood senior Anthony (Tony) Leiter and Klickitat junior J.J. Keys were named by GCB coaches to the 12-member boys All-Opponent Team.

Joe Bales of Lyle shared boys coach of the year honors with Riverside Christian's Bruce Seibol, whose team garnered the sportsmanship award.

Alex Zavala of Mabton earned player of the year kudos.

In coaches' balloting for the girls All-Opponents Team, Bickleton senior Annie Hess and Klickitat sophomore Aryn Davis were among the top-12 vote getters.

The coach of the year award went to Todd Kent of GCB champion La Salle, while Glenwood and Riverside Christian tied for sportsmanship honors.

Sharelle Wells of Riverside was voted player of the year.



Anthony Leiter, Glenwood; Kalvin Kernan, Lyle; J.J. Keys, Klickitat; Drew Payer and Derek Payer, Yakama Tribal; Chase Marquis, La Salle.

Alex Zavala and A.J. Valencia, Mabton; Chad Den Boer and Jordan Haak, Sunnyside Christian; Garrett Neiffer and Trevor Pynch, Riverside Christian.



Aryn Davis, Klickitat; Annie Hess, Bickleton; Carlie Gosser, Molly McGree and Jasmine Stohr, La Salle.

Tyssyna Van Wingerden and Emily Hernandez, Sunnyside Christian; Michelle Tellez and Patty Mendoza, Mabton; Mary Labbee, Sharelle Wells and Katie Van Beek, Riverside Christian.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)