News and information from our partners

Student artists win annual juried event

More than 50 attend White Salmon schools

The Dalles Art Center is currently exhibiting the annual Mid Columbia Middle and High School Juried Art Competition now through Feb. 25.

Entries were received from over 315 students for the show, which is sponsored by Art Box.

A closing reception and awards ceremony will be held Saturday, Feb. 25, from 3 to 4 p.m.

Judging in a combined total of 23 categories was done for first thru third place ribbons.

Placing first in the high school show are: Devon Beveridge, Jed Gleasman, Ashley Rangler, Jose Pablo Lachino, Talon Hoke, Nayo Chavarria, Anastasia Mejia, all of Hood River Valley High School; Dylan McElroy, Ariel Mullins of The Dalles-Wahtonka High School; Ashley Neff, Okoree Peyralans, Aurora Hindahl, Columbia High School, and Ashley Morris, Samuel Thomas, Cascade Locks School.

Second place winners are: Kristen Rutherford, Cascade Locks School; Nicole Dunn, Rainee Rohrbacher, Kelsey Kidd, Erin Rickey, Columbia High School; Ellen McFarlane, Maggie Garcia, James Schmidt, Rebecca Morus, Claire Smith, Whitney Fox, Mercedez Dallman, HRVHS; and Brandon Jason Johnson, Katie Coyner, TDWHS.

Placing third are: Madison Kyger, Jessic Arnell, Whitney Osborn, Caitlin O'Rourke, Elizabeth Carabantes Perez, HRVHS; Ben Ou, Holly Irons, Jeremy Fortune, TDWHS; Saja Renee Van Alstine, Stacey Neils, Columbia High School; and Zachary Belt, Claudia Dillman, David Quinton, Cascade Locks School.

Honorable Mentions were given to: J. Romal Jones, Goldendale High School; Kelli Haskins, Heather Mohr, Cascade Locks School; Tamara Logsdon, Becky Donaghy, Diana Hernandez, Lucas Ropek, Nick Stose, HRVHS; and Jesus Elias, TDWHS.

Receiving "Best of Show" in the High School was Okoree Peyralans, Columbia High School while "Judges' Choice" went to Anastasia Mejia, HRVHS.

In the middle school competition, first place winners are: Yara Becerra, Emmera Talkington, Bruce VanAlstine, Brittany Ward, Isabella Ryan, Brittany Aker, Tobin McCormick and Jaxon Fuller of Henkle Middle School; and Montana Tyler Nielsen, Cascade Locks School.

Second place went to: Emily Jenkins, Aaron Cabrera, Allie Fetsch, Monica Meresse, Amy Sigl, Taryn Struck and Adrianne DeLay, Henkle Middle School; Kelly Larsen, Kenndra Kaske, Cascade Locks School.

Third place winners are: Nicole Turner, Ellie McDonald, Alejandra Ochoa, William Helton, Caleb D. Huth, HMS; Chelsea Harbaugh, Itzel Pacheco, CLS; and Steffan Lovewell, TDMS.

Honorable Mentions were given to: Gage Miller, Andrea Ortiz, and Sam Stadler, HMS and Michael Ryan of CLS.

"Best of Show" was awarded to Emmera Talkington and "Judges' Choice" went to Emily Jenkins, both of Henkle Middle School.

Everyone is welcome to stop in, enjoy the shows, and vote for their favorites for the "Peoples' Choice" awards.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)