News and information from our partners

Closing reception for student art winners will be Feb. 24

Henkle and CHS artists bring home awards

The Dalles Art Center is currently exhibiting the annual Mid Columbia Middle and High School Juried Art Competition now through Feb. 24.

Entries were received from over 400 students for the show. A closing reception and awards ceremony will be held Saturday, Feb. 24, from 3 to 4 p.m.

Judging in a combined total of 26 categories was done for first thru third place ribbons.

Placing first in the High School show are: Claire Smith, Tamara Logsdon, Ellen McFarlane, and Emma Kingrey, all of Hood River Valley High School; Jerrod Donnell of The Dalles Wahtonka High School; Zach Mart, Alison Kreiter, Nicole Dunn, Columbia High School; Kristen Rutherford, Cascade Locks School; Jorge Guzman, Sherman County High School; Jessica Jones, Goldendale High School; and Carolin Mueller, Trout Lake School.

Second place winners are: David Lee Quinton, CLS; Fanny Domijan, Nancy Guzman, Kyle Hadley, Stephen Woody, CHS; Jessica Arnell, Paul Webb, Ashley Lathrop, German Reyes, HRVHS; and Emily Thornton, Nicholas Turner and Ryan McClaren, TDWHS.

Placing third are: Sara Snyder, Jolene Johnson, Janae Pillette, Ashley Falk, Courtney Stake and Emily Kao, HRVHS; Laura Lexow, Kelsey Gilbert, Nathan Francis, TDWHS; William Hindahl, Allison Rickey, CHS; and Laticia Herrera, CLS.

Honorable Mentions were given to: Samantha Perkins, Goldendale High School; Ashlea Simons, CLS; Marlen Barajar, CHS; Alex Sollman, Marissa Mejia, River Olsen, Claudia Von Flotow, Stephanie Lee, Mikel DeHart, Caleb Farro, Enriquez Robles, Jr., HRVHS; and Amy Krol, Hayley Powell, Rosagloria Lopez, Emily Irby, Sacha Schacher, TDWHS. Receiving "Best of Show" was Tamara Logsdon, HRVHS while "Judges' Choice" went to Jessica Jones, Goldendale.

In the Middle School competition, first place winners are: Brittany Aker, Angel Murillo, Cheyenne Willey, Nakia Zeober, Breanna Schwinge, Kaili Duffy, Ana Gonzalez, and Noe Salazar of Henkle Middle School; Chelsea Rae Engard, Kyle Terry, Jose Ortega, Yessenia Valdez and Lindsey Ellett of The Dalles Middle School and Megan Tilley, Cascade Locks School.

Second place went to: Hector Barajas, Lucas Ancke, Perry Knowles, Bruce Van Alstine, Aaron Cabrera, Skyeler Maupin, Spencer Story, Julianne Guzman, and David Curran of HMS; Itzel Pacheco, CLS and Taylor Havland, Daniel Herrera, Salavador Cruz, and Cory Lynn Young, TDMS.

Third place winners are: Mariah Nilson, Naomi Castro, Micaela Meadows, and Jonathan Solis, HMS; Kenndra Kaske, CLS; and Chris Saxton, Nick Rusch, Haley Ellett, Ymi Rosales, Jochell McCaleb, Greg Carroll, Rebecca Perry, Brittany Taylor, and Amber Garrison, TDMS.

Honorable Mentions were given to: Isamar Ramirez, Adriana Benitez, and Ellie McDonald, HMS; Katy Ryan of CLS; Austin McCabe, Chrysta Despain and Drei Leavitt, TDMS and Jesse Fry, Home School.

"Best of Show" was awarded to Brittany Aker, Henkle Middle School and "Judges' Choice" went to Lindsey Ellett, The Dalles Middle School.

Everyone is welcome to stop in, enjoy the shows, and vote for their favorites for the "Peoples' Choice" awards.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)