News and information from our partners

Candidates face filing deadline

June 5 is last chance


The Enterprise

Dozens of local positions will be on the ballot this fall, and the time for potential candidates to file to claim these offices is already upon us.

With the primary election coming on Aug. 18, the candidate filing period opened for one week starting June 1. The deadline to file is 5 p.m. this Friday, June 5. Those interested in contesting for any of the various political offices need to file in person at the County Courthouse in Goldendale by this time to qualify for the ballot.

There are a number of relatively high-profile positions that will be contested this year, including seats on the respective city councils for Bingen and White Salmon and the Bingen's mayoral slot. Also, one of three seats on the Port of Klickitat Board of Commissioners will be on the ballot.

Another intriguing race will be in the Legislative District 15 state representative position, one of the few partisan positions on the 2009 ballot.

David Taylor, a Republican from Yakima, was appointed to the seat earlier this year after the incumbent, Dan Newhouse, was chosen by Gov. Christine Gregoire to become the state's Agriculture Director.

The state representative position will go to the voters to determine who will serve the district through 2010. The district covers all of Klickitat County and all of Skamania County, as well as parts of Clark County and Yakima County. There is a $421.06 filing fee to get on the ballot for this office.

In White Salmon, the following positions will appear on the general election ballot in the fall:

Position 3, currently held by Leana Johnson;

Position 4, now held by Mark Peppel; and

Position 5, now held by Brad Roberts.

In Bingen, these seats will be on the ballot:

Position 2, currently held by Clinton Bryan;

Position 3, now held by Laura Mann;

Position 4, now held by Sandi Dickey; and

Position 5, now held by Terry Trantow.

There is a $10 filing fee for council positions.

The Bingen mayor's office will also be wide open, as incumbent Brian Prigel is finishing out his third four-year term, and does not plan to seek another term. There is a $36 filing fee for this office.

The Port of Klickitat Board of Commissioners also has an opening for a six-year term in the Position 1 seat, where Norm Deo is the incumbent. There is a $12 filing fee to get on the ballot for this office.

In addition to these offices, there are dozens of fire district, cemetery district, hospital district, and school district races all around the county. There are no filing fees for these positions,

For more information on the election filing process, contact the Klickitat County Auditor's Office at 1-800-583-8050.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)