News and information from our partners

Poucher leading in mayor's race

In early results

Signs of the 2011 General Election campaign will soon be gone and forgotten, but the final results of the Nov. 8 election won’t be certified until Nov. 29. However, this much was known by 8:17 p.m. on election night: White Salmon Mayor David Poucher was leading challenger Mark Peppel, 299 to 120, in his bid for a second 4-year term, according to preliminary results posted Tuesday night on the Klickitat County Auditor’s Office’s Web site. A vote total for write-in candidate Richard Marx was unavailable following Tuesday’s ballot count. Another count was planned for Wednesday. Another incumbent, Wayne Vinyard of Glenwood, was winning re-election to a fourth 6-year term on the Klickitat County Port District Board of Commissioners. Vinyard had 1,375 votes to challenger Cheryl Park’s 843. In the two races for Klickitat County Fire Protection District No. 3 Commissioner, Mark Zoller was ahead of Position No. 2 incumbent Jim Hulbert, 647 to 206, while incumbent John Riggleman was holding a 668-to-204 lead over his opponent, Nancy Sliwa, for Position No. 2. White Salmon Valley School District voters on Tuesday were favoring challenger Dave Karlson over incumbent Tom Stevenson for Position No. 4, 860 to 669, and first-time candidate Eric Shank over incumbent Jeff Cooper, 768 to 654, for Position No. 1. The outcomes of three White Salmon City Council races were leaning toward incumbent Bob Landgren for Position No. 2, and political newcomers Bill Werst for Position No. 1 and Allan Wolf for Position No. 5. Landgren led his opponent, George Rau, 210 to 209, after Tuesday’s count. Werst and Wolf led their opponents 287-147 and 226-173 respectively. A well-publicized state measure that would shift state liquor control to the private sector, Initiative 1183, was passing statewide, 676,701 to 455,969, according to a tally taken from the Secretary of State’s Web site at 8:52 p.m. In other races of local interest: Jeff Eiesland was defeating Dennis Hoeye for a seat on the Lyle School Board. Winning contested school board races in Glenwood were Jennifer Hallenbeck, Eric Jacobsen and Dave Wasgatt.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the News and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)