Klickitat County has establishing a ban on outdoor burning for Klickitat County Burn Ban Zone One defined as lands East of the Klickitat County Fire District No. 7 eastern boundary to include, but not limited to, Klickitat County Fire Districts Nos. 2, 9 and 10; outside the jurisdiction of the Yakama Indian Nation; and the jurisdiction of the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission and prohibiting the issuance of burning permits except for authorized agricultural burning. Residential barbecues will be allowed.

At the discretion of the fire chief, Fire Protection Districts are exempt from this ban for the purposes of live fire training activities. The ban on outdoor burning will remain through Sept. 30.  The public is directed to check with the appropriate authorities concerning burning restrictions within the corporate limits of any city or town.

In 2018, Klickitat County Department of Emergency Management (KCDEM), in cooperation with the Klickitat County Interagency Fire Association (KCIFA), created new County Burn Ban Zone designations for establishing County outdoor burn bans. This consists of three zones across the county starting in the east with Zone One, then Zone Two covering the central area and Zone Three covering the west end of the county.

Recommended for you